HVAC students and trade school faculty members were the recipients of $20,500 in scholarships from the Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute’s Clifford H. “Ted” Rees Jr., Scholarship Foundation.

This year, the foundation awarded a new scholarship for military veterans to Louis Alexander of Richmond Community College in Hamlet, N.C.

“Mr. Louis Alexander is the first scholarship recipient in our returning-veterans program, and we are very proud to support him as he begins a new career in our industry,” said Stephen Yurek, president and chief executive of the AHRI. “These students are a shining example of the qualified, dedicated HVACR and water-heating technicians we need to fill good-paying jobs that cannot be outsourced, and the instructors we need to support and educate them.”

Recipients of the HVACR and water-heating program scholarship were: Richard Driesen, Perry Technical Institute, Yakima, Wash.; Daniel Gretschmann, Blackhawk Technical College, Janesville, Wis.; David Hall, Athens Technical College, Athens, Ga.; Joshua Hall, Ferris State University, Big Rapids, Mich.; Chris Johnson, San Joaquin Valley College, Visalia, Calif.; Eric Johnson, Ferris State University; Ryan Johnson, Ferris State University; Jason Olson, Grand Rapids Community College, Grand Rapids, Mich.; and Chris Perez, Los Angeles Trade Technical College, Los Angeles.

Instructor winners were: Floyd Azbell, Worcester Technical High School, Worcester, Mass.; Luther Knouse, State Correctional Institution at Rockview, Benner Township, Pa.; and Travis Snowden, Meridian Technology Center, Stillwater, Okla.

Since 2003, the Rees foundation has given more than $200,000 in scholarships.