The National Association of Oil Heating Service Managers will be awarding 10 education scholarships in 2009.

These scholarships are awarded in memory of Dave Nelsen, a service manager and industry educator who passed away in 1998. They will be awarded to people of any age, provided that they would like to further their education within the industry.

Scholarships will be awarded to the winning entrants who write and submit a 500-word essay answering the question, “What are your thoughts about the oil heating industry and what appeals to you about this segment of the energy industry?”

The essay along with a scholarship application that is available on the NAOHSM Web site,, should be submitted to the association’s national office no later than March 20.

After review by a panel of judges, 10 people will each be awarded $2,000 scholarships. Winners will be announced in the spring and will be invited to attend the NAOHSM awards banquet during the association’s May 17-21, 2009 convention at the Hershey Lodge and Convention Center in Hershey, Pa.

NAOHSM’s annual Dave Nelsen Scholarship Golf Tournament supports the scholarship fund and is held during the annual convention and trade show.  This year’s event will be held in May 18-19 in Hershey. There will be hole sponsorships available for the tournament.

The scholarships are also sponsored with support from Delavan, Honeywell, Taco and Weil-McLain.

To learn more about the scholarships, call (888) 552-0900.