At its Nov. 17-19 annual meeting in Amelia Island, Fla., the Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute elected new board officers for the 2014-2015 term.

The association’s new chairman is Robert McDonough, chief operating officer of the Americas for UTC Building & Industrial Systems.

Awards honoring industry leaders were also presented at the 2013 annual meeting.

The AHRI Public Service Award was presented to the International Exposition Co., organizers of the annual AHR Expo, for its significant contribution to the HVACR industry and in furthering AHRI’s goals. Expo President Clay Stevens accepted the award on behalf of his organization, which has managed the AHR Expo since its inception in the 1920s.

AHRI’s highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award, was presented to Robert Wilkins of Danfoss for making significant contributions to the HVAC industry throughout his career.

For distinguished service and commitment to AHRI, the Richard C. Shulze Award was presented to Gary Clark of Goodman Manufacturing; Dick Foster of Trolex Corp.; Jill Hootman of Trane; Gary Potter of Cambridge Engineering; Paul Sohler of Crown Boiler;
Sue Walker of Empire Comfort Systems; and Richard Wood of Carrier Corp.

 “We are pleased to recognize these thoughtful leaders, and thank them for their service to AHRI and the HVACR and water-heating industry,” said AHRI President and CEO Stephen Yurek.

Other elected AHRI officers include: Vice Chairman Ed Purvis of Emerson Climate Technologies; Treasurer Chris Drew of Burnham Holdings; and Immediate Past Chairman Harry Holmes of Morrison Products.

Members of the executive committee include: John Galyen of Danfoss; Nick Guiffre of Bradford White; Thomas Healy of Parker Hannifin Corp.; Bill Johnson of HillPhoenix; Chris Peel of Rheem Manufacturing Co.; Earle Pfefferkorn of Cleaver Brooks; Dave Regnery of Trane; Rod Rushing of Johnson Controls; Bill Steel of Bard Manufacturing; David Swift of Goodman Manufacturing; and Doug Young of Lennox International Residential Heating and Cooling.

Directors at large with terms ending November 2015 include: James Connor of Tecumseh; Daniel Ellis of ClimateMaster; John Galyen of Danfoss; Shawn Intagliata of Unico; Bill Johnson of HillPhoenix; Dave LaGrand of Nordyne; Mark MacCracken of Calmac; Robert McDonough of Americas for UTC Building & Industrial Systems; Thurman Melson of Honeywell; Gary Michel of Trane; Earle Pfefferkorn of Cleaver-Brooks; Diane Picho of DuPont; Ed Purvis of Emerson Climate Technologies; Roger Richmond-Smith of Smardt; Michael Schwartz of Daikin Applied Americas; Richard Soper of Bosch Thermotechnology; John White Jr. of Taco; Doug Young of  Lennox International Residential Heating & Cooling.

Directors with terms ending this November include: Kevin Wheeler of A.O. Smith; Rod Rushing of Johnson Controls.