North American Technician Excellence announced the makeup of its 2013-2014 board.

Wade Mayfield, president of Thermal Services Inc., has been named chairman. He succeeds Donald Frendberg, who assumed the role of immediate past chairman.

“I am honored to be elected as chairman of the NATE board of trustees,” Mayfield said. “As an HVACR professional and contractor, I know the value of NATE certification and am pleased to continue to work with NATE in this new role.”

Chris Baker, president of Virginia Air Distributors, and David Swift, president and CEO of Goodman/Amana, will maintain their roles as vice chairman and secretary-treasurer, respectively, for the 2013-2014 term.

Additional newly elected board members include: Chris Nelson, president of Carrier Residential and Commercial Systems; Scott Goulet, president of M.E. Flow Inc., Leesburg, Va.; and David McIlwaine, president, CEO and founder of HVAC Distributors Inc., Mount Joy, Pa.

“I proudly welcome Wade and the new members of the NATE board of trustees and sincerely thank our retiring members for their service,” said NATE Chief Operating Officer John Lanier. “NATE continues to set the standards for quality HVACR technicians and I look forward to working with the NATE Board and staff to advance its vision.”

The remaining 2013-2014 members of the NATE board include Dan Ashenden, mechanical systems group publisher, Penton Media Inc.; Spencer G. Atkins, president and COO of Weathertech Distributing Co. Inc.; Gary S. Bedard, vice president and general manager at Lennox Industries; Marc E. Bridgens, dean of the school of construction design technologies at Pennsylvania College of Technology; Dan Foley, president of Foley Mechanical Inc.; Talbot Gee, executive vice president and COO at Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Distributors International; Darrell Garrison, service specialist at International Training Institute; Donald E. Jenkins, service manager at Shapiro & Duncan Inc.; Gerard Kennedy, Ph.D., executive vice president of Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors Association; Harlan “Skip” Krepcik, Refrigeration Service Engineers Society Region 4 director; Mark A. Lowry, executive vice RSES president; Mike Murphy, publisher at the Air Conditioning Heating and Refrigeration News (like Snips, also owned by BNP Media); Ed Purvis, executive vice president at Emerson Climate Technologies; Wayne R. Reedy, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers; Paul Stalknecht, president and CEO, Air Conditioning Contractors of America; Terry Tanker, publisher at HVACR Business; Chandler von Schrader, program manager at U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; and Stephen R. Yurek, Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute president and CEO.