Awards committee chairman Tim Ryan (left) presents the Bobby J. Fowler Award to Bob Weber, code consultant and director of the Clark County, Nev., Building Department. He is pictured next to Code Council Immediate Past President Steve Shapiro.

Bob Weber, code consultant and director of the Clark County, Nev., Building Department, received the International Code Council’s highest honor.

Weber received the Bobby J. Fowler Award during the ICC’s annual conference, Sept. 14-17 in Minneapolis. The award is in memory of Bobby Fowler, who is credited with being the founding father of the International Code Council. The council said that Weber was recognized for his decades-long advocacy of performance-based design, and for his knowledge and expertise of architecture, engineering and codes that have benefited the code council.

Several other awards were also presented during the conference. The Code Official of the Year Award was given to Khanh Nguyen, building official for Costa Mesa, Calif. Nguyen was recognized for his work to further the cause of building safety and for implementing two programs in his community that have encouraged homeowners to make property improvements.

The city’s residential remodeling and green building incentive programs have both led to nearly $40 million in improvements as residents remodel their homes and add green features.

The Fire Service Award went to Chief John Mueller, deputy state fire administrator for the state of New York. A 30-year veteran of the New York State Office of Fire Prevention and Control, Mueller was instrumental in developing the world’s first fire-safety standard for cigarettes, now required in 27 U.S. states and all of Canada.

The Community Service Award was presented to the Sun City, Ariz., Fire Prevention Bureau. The 18 volunteers of the bureau were recognized for their service to promote public safety, health and welfare. The Fire Prevention Bureau’s volunteers perform business inspections, conduct home safety surveys, and install smoke alarms, emergency lockboxes and fire extinguishers to enhance the safety of Sun City residents.

The Affiliate of the Year Award went to Jim Messersmith, the coordinating manager of regional code services for the Portland Cement Association. Messersmith earned the award for his dedication to code development. For 25 years, Messersmith has worked with the building industry to coordinate and collaborate on code-change proposals.

Doug Thornburg, technical director of product development for the International Code Council, was named Educator of the Year. A registered architect and certified building official, Thornburg has been teaching for more than 25 years and is one of the code council’s most requested instructors, according to the association. The Educator of the Year Award is given in memory of longtime code instructor, Brent Snyder, for his contributions to council members, their education and professional development.

The Chapter of the Year Award was presented to the Kansas Heart of America Chapter for serving its citizens through disaster assessment and assistance. The chapter is in the process of launching an online code school to provide continuing education for contractors, architects, engineers, trades workers and building inspectors.

Four merit awards were presented to chapters of the International Code Council that distinguish themselves through activities that demonstrate the goals and objectives of the International Code Council. They are: the Michigan Association of Housing Officials, Rainier Chapter, Tennessee Building Officials Association and Virginia Building and Code Officials Association.