Former ASHRAE President Lee Burgett received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute.

The award is the highest honor bestowed by the institute.

Burgett, along with five other industry leaders, were recognized with special awards during ARI’s 53rd annual meeting, Nov. 12-14 in Palm Springs, Calif.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented on special occasions to recognize individuals who throughout their career have been industry leaders and made significant contributions to its advancement. Burgett was honored with the award for his more than 44 years of service to the HVACR industry and for his leadership in the development of industry standards.

Burgett served as a member and chairman of a number of key institute standing committees, including the General Standards Committee from 1993 to 1997. In addition, Burgett has actively advanced industry standards in a number of related organizations, including the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, the U.S. Green Building Council, the Canadian Standards Association, Underwriters Laboratories and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Three people received the 2006 Richard C. Schulze Distinguished Service Award: Wayne Reedy of Carrier Corp., Carl Bergt of Rheem Manufacturing and Ralph Coppola of Hill Phoenix.

Reedy received the award for his contributions both within ARI and the industry. He has served as chairman of the institute’s unitary small equipment section and ARI subcommittees. Reedy, who holds 17 patents, was named an ASHRAE fellow in 2005 and is currently the chairman of ASHRAE’s Research Administration Committee. In 2005, he received the International Energy Agency’s Peter Ritter von Rittinger International Heat Pump Medal.

Bergt received the award for the many hours he has dedicated to working with ARI staff and members in the redesign of a new product-performance directory.

As principal engineer at Rheem Manufacturing, Bergt has lent his expertise as chairman of ARI’s Unitary Small Compliance Committee. In this role, he was instrumental in working with ARI members to ensure a smooth transition to the new federal energy-efficiency standard that became effective in January 2006.

Coppola was recognized for his role in merging the Commercial Refrigeration Manufacturers Association into ARI. He served as chairman of the institute’s CRM division for two terms following the merger, and helped establish the strategic goals that the division continues to pursue. Coppola also foresaw the regulatory changes that would affect the industry and recognized the need for an ARI commercial refrigeration standard and certification program with federal standards.

Mark Paquette, manager of certification programs for ETL, now known as Intertek Testing Service Labs, received the Meritorious Service Award for providing guidance on nearly every ARI standard developed in the past 40 years.

Paquette’s “respected knowledge of product testing is unmatched and ARI members have greatly benefited from his expertise,” institute officials said.

Paquette has traveled all over the world performing witness tests for ARI and serving as an emissary of its certification programs.