The American Welding Society recently announced the recipients of its annual scholarship program.

The scholarships are awarded through the society's charitable foundation, and go to students in a welding program at an accredited four-year college or university. The national scholarships are worth a minimum of $2,500 annually. The international scholarships, totaling $2,500 annually, are available to full-time international students pursuing undergraduate or graduate studies in the related subjects anywhere in the world.

This year's national scholarship recipients from Ohio State University were:

Melissa J. Rubal, George Murray, Kevin McCulloh, Joseph M. Walko, Jonathan Will, Kyle A. Craver, Daniel Foster, Katelynn Carr and David Schick.

Scholarship recipients attending Ferris State University in Big Rapids, Mich., were: Jeff M. Lemke, Daniel R. Niemela, Bradley Dial, Brandon Reinhold and Kenneth D. Camling.

Recipients representing LeTourneau University in Longview, Texas, are: Jerica Stone, Richard E. Baumer, Micah Casteel and Joshua W. Sleigh.

Scholarship recipients from other universities included: Brian Lewis from Purdue University, Sung Moo Hong from the University of California-Berkley, Grant Ellingson at Oregon State University and James A. Turner Jr. from the University of Vermont.

International scholarship recipients were: Svetlana Gospodinova from Bulgaria, pursuing a degree at the Technical University of Bulgaria, and Yong Chae Lim from Korea, attending Ohio State University.