NEW ORLEANS - During its 116th Annual Convention and Exhibit, the NRCA presented its ninth annual Gold Circle Awards.

NEW ORLEANS - During its 116th Annual Convention and Exhibit, held Feb. 11-14, the National Roofing Contractors Association presented its ninth annual Gold Circle Awards to NRCA members that it said made significant contributions to the roofing industry in the following categories.

Outstanding workmanship (steep-slope): James Myers Co. Inc. of Beltsville, Md. An honorable mention went to Ruff Roofers Inc. of Baltimore.

Innovative solutions (new construction): Chadwick Technology Property Ltd. Of Forestville, New South Wales, Australia. Honorable mentions went to Kalkreuth Roofing & Sheet Metal Inc. from Wheeling, W.Va., and Progressive Services Inc. of Dover, Pa.

Innovative solutions (re-roofing): Roof Technologies Inc. of Harvey, La. An honorable mention went to D.C. Taylor Co. of Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Service to the community: Furey Roofing & Construction Co. Inc. of Providence, R.I., and Great Lakes Roofing Corp. of Germantown, Wis.

Honorable mentions went to Buckaroo-Thermoseal Inc. from Portland, Ore., and Roof Technologies Inc.; finalist, D.C. Taylor Co.

BMW winner

James A. Eckstein Jr., vice president of C.A. Eckstein Inc. of Cincinnati, was the winner of the National Roofing Foundation raffle held during the convention. Eckstein won a new BMW Z4 roadster 2.5i.

Proceeds from ticket sales will be used to benefit NRF's scholarship endowment fund.

NRF sponsors scholarships for undergraduate students who are employees, immediate family members of employees or immediate family members of NRCA-contractor members.

Recipients are chosen based on academic record, potential to succeed, leadership and participation in school and community activities, honors, work experience, statement of educational goals and third-party appraisal.

MVP awards

Most Valuable Player awards were presented to the following:

Jose Diaz, foreman for Denchfield Roofing Corp., of Silver Spring, Md.; Michael Green, foreman for Van Winkle Roofing Inc., of Roswell, N.M.; Glenn Headley, foreman for Centimark Corp. of Canonsburg, Pa.; Mike Hoisington, foreman for John A. Dalsin & Son Inc. of Minneapolis; Stephen Kiebzak, foreman for Jos. A. Sanders & Sons Inc. of Buffalo, N.Y.; Joseph K. Parent, foreman for State Pride Roofing of Florida Inc. in West Palm Beach, Fla.; Rick Primmer, foreman for D.C. Taylor Co. of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Jesus Rojas, foreman for Beldon Roofing Co. of San Antonio; Charles Sauer, foreman for Vermont Roofing Inc. in Bennington, Vt.; and Larry Schuman, foreman for Tilsen Roofing Co. Inc. in Madison, Wis.

J.A. Piper Award given

Stephen M. Phillips was announced as the 56th recipient of NRCA's J.A. Piper Award.

Presented each year at NRCA's annual convention, the J.A. Piper Award recognizes roofing professionals who the NRCA says have devoted constant, outstanding service to the association and roofing industry.

Phillips is a senior partner with the law firm Hendrick, Phillips, Salzman & Flatt in Atlanta. Phillips focuses on legal issues pertaining to the construction industry, particularly the commercial roofing industry. He serves as counsel to NRCA and the National Roofing Legal Resource Center.

First presented in 1948, the J.A. Piper Award is named for former NRCA President Joseph A. Piper, whose extraordinary efforts kept the association alive during the Great Depression.