PALM BEACH, Fla. - David R. Pannier, president of the Residential Systems Division for The Trane Co., was recently elected chairman of the board of directors of the Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute.

Pannier is chairman of several ARI committees. He has served on ARI's board as a director at large since 2000. He has also been an active member of the board of the North American Technician Excellence program and served as its vice chairman from 1999 to 2002.

Other officers include Geraud Darnis, president of Carrier Corp., who was elected first vice chairman of ARI. Thomas E. Bettcher, president of Copeland Corp., will serve as immediate past chairman.

ARI officers elected by the board include nine vice presidents: Scott Boxer, Ralph Coppola, Steven S. Duerwachter, Ian Stewart Farwell, John Ferguson, David J. Huntley, David J. LaGrand, John H. Reilly and Robert Wilkins. Debbie Hawkins was elected treasurer.

Harry L. Holmes was elected director at large. Boxer, Coppola, Evans, Farwell, LaGrand, Reilly, and Wilkins were re-elected as directors at large.

Elected product committee chairmen were: Tom Mikulina, Air Conditioning Heat Transfer Products; Matthew Friedlander, Air to Air Energy Recovery Ventilation; Eric Brodsky, Air Filters; Carl Huber, Applied Package Systems; Nick DeHaan, Commercial Refrigerator Manufacturer Division; John Galyen, Compressors and Condensing Units; Keith Coursin, Dehumidifiers; Jeff Tawney, Heat Pump Pool and Spa Heaters; Jon Bingaman, Humidifiers; John Lebo, Industrial Refrigeration and Heat Transfer; Mark MacCracken, Thermal Storage Equipment; Stephen Pargeter, Unitary Large Equipment; Daniel Arnold, Unitary Small Equipment; Dave Kirk, Valves and Accessories; and Edward Russell, Water Coolers.